Interim guidance on 2021 time zone updates for the Republic of South Sudan

Posted by

This post has been republished via RSS; it originally appeared at: Daylight Saving Time & Time Zone articles.

As a result of a government order, the Republic of South Sudan will move to Central Africa Time (UTC+02:00) at 00:00 AM local time on February 1, 2021.


Microsoft plans to release an update to support this time zone change; however, there is insufficient time to properly build, test, and release such an update before the change goes into effect. In the meantime, we recommend that individuals and organizations with devices in the Republic of South Sudan follow the interim guidance below.


Interim guidance

Microsoft recommends that users temporarily set the time zone on their devices to “(UTC+2:00) Harare, Pretoria” on February 1, 2021 at 00:00. Selecting this time zone will ensure that devices reflect the correct local time. (Note: events that have occurred in the past, before the update, will not show correctly.)

This can be done in one of the two ways:

  • Select the Windows logo key, type "time zone", and select Change the time zone. From the time zone dropdown, select “(UTC+2:00) Harare, Pretoria”.
  • Navigate to Control Panel Date and Time Change time zone. From the time zone dropdown, select “(UTC+2:00) Harare, Pretoria”. Select OK to apply the change.

We recommend switching time zone settings to “(UTC+2:00) Juba” after the update from Microsoft has been released and installed.


For Microsoft's official policy on DST and time zone changes, please see Daylight saving time help and support. For information on how to update Windows to use the latest global time zone rules, see How to configure daylight saving time for Microsoft Windows operating systems.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.